One of these things is not like the others…

The other day I was in my local charity bookshop. I share this with you because I think I may have found one of the funniest things I have ever seen.

Whilst in the academic section, I found these* books:

 

I had to actually suppress a belly laugh when I saw this. It obviously just stems from some poor sod who doesn’t know what Numerology is or doesn’t care enough to move it into the spirituality section (such as myself) where it belongs.

Because, for those of you who don’t know, numerology is not the study of numbers. Numerology is *quickly wikis*:

“…any study of the purported mystical relationship between a count or measurement and life.”

You see, mystical. Puts it up there with faith healing, mediums, homeopathy and “The Secret” – totally ineffectual, and yet hundreds of otherwise sensible people would stake their lives in it.

My favourite fact about numerology? Newton believed in it so much that he invented indigo so as to justify it.

* Well, not these precise books. I was too busy laughing to remember them properly. But they definitely did have Hawking, along with a book by Michio Kaku, and two copies of Jostein Gaarder’s “Sophie’s World”. Maybe they’ve redeemed themselves.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in GLOOP, Normal Type and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

