Christmas Cheer Incoming!

For a damn dirty atheist, I love Christmas a lot. Sure, when I celebrate it, I tend to make it all pagan, call it Solstice and worship the Green Man. But I still love the winter festival time – call it Christmas, call it Solstice, call it Hanukkah, call it Kwanzaa.

The point is, this time of year rocks, and it is our duty to celebrate. But to fully enjoy it, I have to get a long run up to it. No, not as long as September, like some companies would have it, but a run up nonetheless. So, to get into the Solstice spirit, I like to listen to Christmas music. There’s actually some surprisingly good stuff out there. (And some dishonourable mentions, but more on that later. *shudder*)

With that in mind, I usually make a Christmas playlist. However, this year I’m going for a different approach. In the run up of the last few weeks before Christmas, allow me to share with you some awesome Christmas albums, to show you how you should be celebrating the snow and the failures of harvest. Starting from tomorrow, every day I will be posting a recommended* Christmas/Solstice themed album for your pleasure. Well, technically not all of them will be Christmassy, but all of them will be awesome; and filling your days with awesome music will be enough.

***

Regular broadcasts begin tomorrow. But first, to get it out of my system, and because although it’s a Christmas album by a big name artist, I couldn’t bring myself to put it on the list, I have the aforementioned dishonourable mention. Why dishonourable? Because he sold out; because it’s twee; and because technically he’s Jewish and I would have loved some Hanukkah songs instead. And because it’s twee. So very twee.

Don’t even get me started on his days as a pastor. Have a listen to Bob Dylan’s “Christmas in the Heart” and tell me what you think.

* Yes, “recommending”. Not giving. Unless it’s a doomsday scenario, and the album is impossible to get hold of without the right know-how, you’ll have to go find them yourselves!

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Music, Normal Type and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

