A eulogy.

Well, that’s the bad news for today, I hope. Christopher Hitchens has died, at the ripe young age of 62.

The world is now a lesser place. Very much so.

For what it’s worth, and to reimagine what someone else might have said, someone much better with words than I, “we’ll live to think another day; just now we’ll have to think for one more of us.”

Lets make sure we do. We must keep up the good work.

So the moment I can get my hands on a glass of whiskey, I’m drinking one for him. Until then, my housemate’s sherry will have to do.

Greta Christina, as always, puts it far better than I could.

One more thing: those people who have been “licking their chops”, as Ophelia Benson so eloquently puts it, even so recently as a few days ago? They should be ashamed of themselves. They won’t be, but that’s not the point – they should be.

At least I know what this winter’s reading is going to be.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Atheism & Skepticism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

