On The Sixth Day of Solstice…

A blogger gave to me!

To fully enjoy the Solstice season, you have to get a long run up to it. So, to get you into the Solstice spirit in the last few weeks before Ground Zero, allow me to share with you some awesome festive albums. Every night until Christmas Eve, I will be recommending a Christmassy themed album for your pleasure. Well, not all of them will be Christmassy, but all of them will be awesome; and filling your days with awesome music will be enough.

***

Time for the album that has my FAVOURITE CHRISTMAS SONG EVER. You may notice that a lot of these albums are just (good) albums with a cool Christmas/Solstice themed song on them. And yes, that is, in part, true. Tomorrow’s album will be different, but today is very much an example of that.

That’s because today’s album, The Pogues’ “If I Should Fall From Grace of God”, has “Fairytale of New York” on it, and if I had to listen to a Christmas song, on repeat, all year round, this would be it.

I’m not going to elaborate on why it’s my favourite festive song, beyond it’s the only one I know that contains the words “scumbag” and “faggot”. I hasten to add, as well, that I love the rest of the album – “Thousands are Sailing” nearly makes me cry, whereas Galway Races nearly makes me dance – but that one song makes up for 50 years of cheap, kitsch, happy-clappy “what presents shall I get this year?” Christmas music being piped into supermarkets all over the world.

Well, not quite. But almost.

Posted on December 18, 2011, in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

