Whole Lotta Rock Meets Sad Claude

I’m gonna take a moment to flog the site of a friend of mine, who I’ve previously touted as being pretty awesome. Today I’ve been listening to Whole Lotta Rock, a Forge Radio show hosted by my friend Jess Petty. It is a very awesome show just anyway, but I’d like to take a moment to make a comment about this week’s show in particular.

This week, she had a local Sheffield band called Sad Claude in the studio, for a chat and some live sets. Now I’ve heard Sad Claude’s new EP, Mercy, and I have to be honest: I listened to it once, and I wasn’t too enthused. I didn’t hate it, but I wasn’t massively impressed. However, I wanted to give them another shot; I’m fully aware that I could be being too harsh. (UPDATE – On relisten, I was being really harsh! It sounds much better a second time around – as all records should. Thumbs up!)

Anyway, they appeared on the show, picked a few tracks, and played a couple of live acoustic songs. Well, I was much, much more impressed with them live. You know, gig-going levels of impressed. All of their songs were good, but in particular the song “Runaway” was awesome. In fact, I am a little bit in love with that song. Gonna have to relisten soon.

They’re also apparently playing at Surface Festival in Manchester this week. Who knew?

I'm going to relisten to this too. Very soon.

So thank you, Jess, for giving me a chance to change my mind. And thank you Sad Claude. With any luck, I’ll be seeing you soon…

Boring but useful info:

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My opinion was that they were so much better live than in the Studio. They need to fix that.

  2. Sad Claude are playing Beg, Borrow, Steal on Carver Street Sheffield. Monday 23rd April

  3. Hey – some more Sad Claude gig dates for you :
    Monday 21st May – Beg, Borrow, Steal.Sheffield
    Wednesday 23rd May – Dry Live. Manchester
    Saturday 26th May – Kegworth Summer Fair. Leicestershire
    Sunday 27th May – Redhouse. Sheffield
    Hope to see you there – come say hi – will be playing “Runaway” at all gigs 🙂

  1. Pingback: Now being referred to as “SC” by the cool kids… | A Hatful Of Napalm

Leave a Reply

