Love Love Love Love Love etc

When I first heard about this, I didn’t know what to think. I’m going to be honest; I still don’t know what to think. A huge part of me thinks that this message is just too simple – that even if the Iranian and Israeli people love each other, that has very little bearing on whether or not any such war would occur.

But I do know that – and I’m sorry for the saccarine nature of what I’m going to say now – this world needs more love in it. Declarations of international love for people are a good thing. Love that is in spite of not knowing people, or sometimes even because of it – it’s hard for a person to have pissed you off if you’ve never met them, right? This is all a good thing.

And maybe love will make Iranian Israeli wars less likely. I hope so. I want to think that the opinions of the people swayed the decisions of the government like that. Personally, that’s not the war I’m worried about. I’m more worried about the US waging war on Iran, and the UK getting dragged in with them. For the record, I would hate that, and if that means that I too love Iran, then so be it.

So more love, I guess. It’s a simplistic view, and sometimes simple is best.

I guess I should call on you to spread the word. But I’m going to ask you to use your judgement. I don’t know about love, and I sadly don’t feel I can promise that the UK will never bomb Iran, but hate is toxic. And if you agree, well, you know what to do.

***

For further facts, go to Ronny’s site.

For non-facts, check out Know Your Meme.

***

UPDATE: This reflects my feelings better:

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Atheism & Skepticism, Politics, Stuff I found somwhere on an Internet. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

