(Stocking) Filler Post

OK, I’ve been shockingly bad for updates recently. I know it. I’ve been meaning to get around to a ton of stuff on here, but haven’t quite for ages. For example, for ages I’ve had some EPs I’ve wanted to review (briefly), and even they were going to be in apology for being so bad.

But I’m gonna try to make up with it, by stealing an idea off of Little Red Reviewer, whose blog I have been enjoying, and providing you, pro bono, with a bunch of information you neither need nor want, but may enjoy.

The other day I went out to the library to return some way overdue books and look for others. Not overdue, obviously – not yet. And as any fool know, the library is a great place to borrow CDs for 50p each. Bargain! And here, for those of you who are interested, is what I found, and why…

  1. First on the list, Metronomy, The English Riviera. Their second album, it features the epic “She Wants”. It’s not often I get sold on a music video – I try to avoid them, as they can make great songs seem crap and vice versa. But they put so much time and effort into them, and they always fit the songs in some bizarre way. At any rate, if any of it sounds as good as album number one, Nights Out, it may even be a favourite this year. At any rate, there’s a good chance of them popping their head up in the next set-list.
  2. Do you like Reggae? How about reggae covers? How about reggae covers of Pink Floyd and Radiohead? Yes, I found a secret stash of Easy Star All-Stars somewhere at the back; I’ve already half listened to Radiodread, a full cover of OK Computer, and I’m gearing up for a whole sit down and drink through Dub Side Of The Moon. Oh yes, it shall be great.
  3. Ash, A-Z, Vol.2: how did I not have you already? I know for a fact that some of my friends have you; why didn’t I steal it? Anyway, you’re mine now. All is right with the world.
  4. For one reason or another, I consider myself a fan of Plan B. Maybe it’s that he chooses his words carefully; maybe it’s that he writes songs criticising islam-fuelled child abuse; maybe it’s that he justnarrowly manages to evade being an english Eminem. Whatever it is, I’m hoping that album 2, The Defamation of Strickland Banks will be good. Although, as it turns out, I haven’t actually listened to album 1 – Y’all fucked up doesn’t seem to be anywhere. WHAT HAVE I LISTENED TO, THEN?

    Somewhere out there, someone’s found a way to make money by getting people to download albums that only have dubious connections to Plan B…

    ***
    UPDATE: Man, that’s exactly what I want to be doing at 6am. Long story short; my copy had been renamed after an enitrely different LP released by an entirely different group called Plan B. Well sheeyit.
    ***

  5. Ghostpoet, Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam I picked up solely because Ghostpoet played some gigs with Dan Le Sac/Scroobius Pip. See? Fame by Association does work!
  6. 69 Love Songs, byThe Magnetic Fields, is usually enough to put me off. I’m not sure if I can stand 1 love song, let alone 69! But I liked the economy of paying 50p for THREE CDS! and then there’s the fact that Emmy The Great “fucking loves” them. Though this is the same persona that mourned S-Club 7, so not sure if I should take this as a good thing…
  7. And finally, once I’d finished my haul, and was handing over *some* money, I noticed there was a box of cheap CDs. Never mind 50p to have it on my iPod; 50p to own a disc forever! And lo’ and behold, The Duke Spirit’s first album, Cuts Across The Land. 50p to own it? Deal! Even if it’s shockingly bad, I can legally set fire to it myself. And use the bonus disc as a frisbee.

So, a good haul. Definitely! Will I listen to it all within a year? Who knows?! I almost hope not!

And will any of you find this as interesting to read as I did to write? Equally as little knowing going on! With all of this uncertainty, isn’t life an adventure!

Life is one huge bear hunt, and we are the bears.

Posted on May 27, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

