Fuck “Speak No Ill”

Also, this article. Courtesy of Pippa Line.

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Normal Type, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think there’s a difference between “you can’t say anything negative about people who are dead” and “don’t celebrate the day of someone’s death.” Too many people have been breaking the second one, and that’s just gross, no matter who the person was.

    • I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – though maybe not about Thatcher next time: I mourn her loss as a member of the human race. As Margaret Thatcher the person, I don’t.

      Also much as I joked about having a few drinks to celebrate, I didn’t, and I don’t see any mass celebrations out in the street. Just people commenting on how much they hated her guts.

      • Alas, the first thing I heard on the radio this morning was about the street parties people were having. I found it distasteful at best when I was in the US and heard people chanting “USA! USA!” after Osama Bin Laden was killed, and he was a truly evil human being without whom the world is better off. Throwing parties over the death of a politician who’s been out of power for twenty years? Not right.

      • Well, OK, I find it hard to justify those street parties. I suppose I still do worry that criticising those people for celebrating crosses over far too much with criticising people who are still unhappy about her actions, and raise valid criticisms, for airing those criticisms.

        Criticisms of which there are many. But whether that worry of mine is valid and defensible, I’m still uncertain. Thoughts?

        (Also, with respect to the Bin Laden comparison, there are two distinguishing factors: she was english, one of us, not a foreign national; and he was straight up murdered. Regrettably the world is better without him in, but still context is all.)

Leave a Reply

