My only post about Boston

God, what a horrible mess this is…

Look, I don’t want to talk about the bombings. I have nothing smart, clever or helpful to add to the discourse. It’s just a load of evil shit that I know OH SO VERY LITTLE ABOUT.

That said, I want to point you to my good friend Captain Raven, who has written what I thought was a very eloquent post on the criticisms some people have been making against the coverage of the Boston Marathon Bombings. Specifically, people who may have listened to Scroobius Pip – “Thou shalt give equal worth to tragedies that occur in non-english speaking countries as to those that occur in english speaking countries” – and have cried foul.

I’d urge you to read the post, which is short and well-reasoned, but to quote the man himself, here’s his own TL;DR:

“I think what I want to say with my ramblings here is this: If you have a problem with the media reporting about western problems only and you seek a more balanced news platform, learn to internet. I heard good things about http://www.aljazeera.com/ although I can’t comment about it personally. Never trust a single source, use your brain and compare different opinions. If you are religious, pray for all the people who suffer in this world. If you want to donate, donate for the cause that needs it the most and not the one that is mentioned on TV.

Don’t be a dick about how in other countries people have been suffering more than in Boston right now. Suffering can’t be counted in numbers. It is always the same amount of bad.”

 

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Politics, Stuff I found somwhere on an Internet. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

